Posted by: Karen Boyce | March 19, 2017

The Things a Music Teacher says and does…

A light hearted reflection on a kids community choir rehearsal…

No2.

Kids sitting in a circle. We split into 2 groups, our Musical Director takes one group through to the dance room with keyboard, my group are left with me on piano ….and here they are….. over 12 of them sitting with their folders open with their backs to me. Doh!

Says me to the cast of thousands…..
” Do you think it would be okay to turn around and face me in the corner?”.

Instant success and their smiling faces. 🙂

______________________________________________________

The next story is my absolute favourite.

No 1.

In the song “Anything you can do I can do better” there is a lyric part way through that says… “I can jump a hurdle, even with my girdle” and one of the kids asks

“What is a girdle?…….(nice work and so innocently done).

Giggles from around the room..(great job choir parents….leave me hanging…!!)

So here I am, in the middle of teaching a song to kids aged 5-10 (that they are totally digging) talking about, and demonstrating, articles of clothing that suck in tummies for ladies instead of them doing it by themselves…..

(and me sitting at my piano carrying a bit of extra weight!)

#bestjobever #lovethesekids #choir #musicteaching #fun #mademyday


Leave a comment

Categories