Posted by: Karen Boyce | September 22, 2013

Primary School Choirs- an eye opener

Last weekend I attended a workshop for leaders of children’s choirs in Blenheim, New Zealand. The workshop was lead by Meghan Flint and put on by NZ Choral Federation.

There were nine participants and it was a real eye opener for me.  I was the only one working with a children’s choir that wasn’t a school teacher. I heard stories about teachers trying to cram in singing when all the children wanted to do was eat their lunch, or sing something “cool”. There were teachers  thrown into the role who had very little musical knowledge or experience and out of the group, only 3 played piano to any level.

Hearing how these teachers work was fascinating and so admirable. Backing tracks were their main tool- something I’ve never had to use being a pianist. Some of them knew how to transpose the backing tracks to make it easier to sing to- those that didn’t were keen to learn the tools to be able to do that.

The teachers from Blenheim were preparing for a music festival that happens late September. They had 18 songs to teach their choirs and the concerts are being held over 3 nights in the local theatre.  All schools had the same songs, and backing tracks and there wasn’t going to be a pianist for the live concerts.  The teachers have been working all year on these songs with a couple of combined rehearsals before the big night.

I have the utmost repect for these teachers and it has made me realise what a wonderful job they do with limited resource and skill.  I also know how lucky I am to work with another musician and to have had the opportunity to start a choir from scratch.

 

KBImage


Leave a comment

Categories